Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 38

Thread: Need more SIGGY characters

  1. #1
    Senior Member Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Living and Lovin in North Carolina, y'all.
    Posts
    5,976

    Default Need more SIGGY characters

    Well, 1000 just simply is not enough.

    I can understand the limitations and monitoring for BS.

    But I would really like to get more.

    I am unable to add exchanged.mobi.

  2. #2
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    LOL

    I still think we should be able to add a logo thats clickable to main site. I have the reasons against but i'm a great believer in the middle, a compromise. One logo and a few links for example. Just limit size of logo, doesnt have to look like a circus

    c'mon biatches

  3. #3
    Senior Member Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Living and Lovin in North Carolina, y'all.
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Folks, I am losing track of the domains. Need more characters in my siggy. And as pred says, a logo would not be bad.

    Each time a domain is mentioned, it gets indexed. And every time it gets indexed in points right back here to mobility.mobi. It is a win/win situation. Damn shame to think that this time last year I only had two developed .mobi domains.

    Now I am blazing a trail.

    Hey, special cases have special needs. I am not implying I am special. But you want a why.mobi? on every site so I think it is a decent tradeoff.

  4. #4
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerry View Post
    Folks, I am losing track of the domains. Need more characters in my siggy. And as pred says, a logo would not be bad.

    Each time a domain is mentioned, it gets indexed. And every time it gets indexed in points right back here to mobility.mobi. It is a win/win situation. Damn shame to think that this time last year I only had two developed .mobi domains.

    Now I am blazing a trail.

    Hey, special cases have special needs. I am not implying I am special. But you want a why.mobi? on every site so I think it is a decent tradeoff.

  5. #5
    Administrator Andres Kello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    3,548

    Default

    Sorry for the delay, I'm still on vacation.

    Try now, I've increased the limit.

    Just as a reminder, here are the signature limits:

    • 4 lines of text
    • Text size no greater than regular text (Size 2)
    • No images

    This all has a very logical explanation. The signatures are an appendix to posts, not the main beef, so if we allow images, long signatures, or large signatures, then they will distract the focus away from the actual posts and make reading through threads quite cumbersome.

    P.S. As for linking to Why.mobi, don't do it for me, do it for .mobi. I don't gain anything personally from anyone linking to Why.mobi, but .mobi does.

    P.P.S. Greetings from Trogir, Croatia, a UNESCO World Heritage Site:

    My .mobi's: Dating.mobi | Dubai.mobi | Adult.mobi | Banking.mobi | Student.mobi | Call.mobi | Horoscope.mobi | Messenger.mobi | Classifieds.mobi | LiveTV.mobi

    Developed: Yup.mobi | Mobility
    | Why .mobi? | Banking | Vuelos | Airline Complaints | Random Site | Whois | Free Mobile Dating | Free Dictionary | Free Thesaurus | Horoscope | Astrology | Free Translation | Exchange Rates


  6. #6
    domainitrix
    Guest

    Default



    Pred
    You have an image= smiley in your sigg.

    6 hours of traffic school or minus 2 emerald bling phone off you!


  7. #7
    Founding Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,410

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andres View Post

    P.P.S. Greetings from Trogir, Croatia, a UNESCO World Heritage Site:

    You are surely Enjoying Life right now . Hows the Holiday going
    ERP.MOBI | LOG.MOBI | BROADCAST.MOBI | SHARES.MOBI | RFP.MOBI

  8. #8
    Senior Member Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Living and Lovin in North Carolina, y'all.
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Still can not add more. This is the error message I keep getting:


    1. Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened. You may only have up to 4 line(s). Long text may have been implicitly wrapped, causing it to be counted as multiple lines.
    2. BB code size is not allowed.
    I don't even know what the hell a BB code is. But it ain't allowed.
    Last edited by Gerry; 07-15-2008 at 08:36 PM.

  9. #9
    domainitrix
    Guest

    Default

    Wikipedia on BB code

    I've updated my sigg yesterday and also had same issue with "BB code size not allowed"
    I am thinking perhaps we can't have the size of the fonts specified now as we were able to before...Only the default size then? =Size 2?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Living and Lovin in North Carolina, y'all.
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by domainitrix View Post
    Wikipedia on BB code

    I've updated my sigg yesterday and also had same issue with "BB code size not allowed"
    I am thinking perhaps we can't have the size of the fonts specified now as we were able to before...Only the default size then? =Size 2?
    Thanks for the lesson! Too lazy to look it up myself.

    I use size 1 which seems to be adequate and preferred by many with multiple domains or messages.

    I guess I just end all my post like this:

    LIVE SITES!

    boxed ahhh iBoSox Cubby XPS LayUp TheWordOf MoSuDo iYankees NYCparks Raced K9Z En-Route infield Fiddled iSigns BikeFest iSCRUM tackled SDCA SURFED MXZ aVet iCPR OLU WhoDat vitis muscadine VinoDot.mobi (.com, .net) WineSelect WineDot mSevenMile (.mobi, .com) mConceptualist (.mobi, .com) VinDot.mobi (.com,.net) ncOBX Delantero Navigated Noses Spiker iHosp BakersRack WineCart Exchanged









    notice anything added? YeeHaw!


  11. #11
    domainitrix
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerry View Post
    Thanks for the lesson! Too lazy to look it up myself.
    You? Lazy? NEVEEERRRR.

    Only Preoccupied with another activity( like making another .mobi site)

    Reminds me-- rep for having so many launched sites that you're running out of siggy real estate!

  12. #12
    Administrator Andres Kello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    3,548

    Default

    Size issue fixed - you just can't use a font size larger than normal text in the siggy.

    The "Lines" issue should also be fixed, try now and let me know.
    My .mobi's: Dating.mobi | Dubai.mobi | Adult.mobi | Banking.mobi | Student.mobi | Call.mobi | Horoscope.mobi | Messenger.mobi | Classifieds.mobi | LiveTV.mobi

    Developed: Yup.mobi | Mobility
    | Why .mobi? | Banking | Vuelos | Airline Complaints | Random Site | Whois | Free Mobile Dating | Free Dictionary | Free Thesaurus | Horoscope | Astrology | Free Translation | Exchange Rates


  13. #13
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    Thanks Andres, so to recap what are the limits/rules?

  14. #14
    Senior Member Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Living and Lovin in North Carolina, y'all.
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andres View Post
    Size issue fixed - you just can't use a font size larger than normal text in the siggy.

    The "Lines" issue should also be fixed, try now and let me know.
    Still seeing this:

    Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened. You may only have up to 4 line(s). Long text may have been implicitly wrapped, causing it to be counted as multiple lines.

    No more vacations for you!

  15. #15
    Administrator Andres Kello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    3,548

    Default

    Try now and let me know.
    My .mobi's: Dating.mobi | Dubai.mobi | Adult.mobi | Banking.mobi | Student.mobi | Call.mobi | Horoscope.mobi | Messenger.mobi | Classifieds.mobi | LiveTV.mobi

    Developed: Yup.mobi | Mobility
    | Why .mobi? | Banking | Vuelos | Airline Complaints | Random Site | Whois | Free Mobile Dating | Free Dictionary | Free Thesaurus | Horoscope | Astrology | Free Translation | Exchange Rates


  16. #16
    Senior Member Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Living and Lovin in North Carolina, y'all.
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    HOOOYA!

    You got it, Andres.

  17. #17
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    so can we add images in sig now as it wont let me, its a pain in the ****

  18. #18
    Founding Member Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Me want COOKIE!
    Posts
    2,350

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pred View Post
    so can we add images in sig now as it wont let me, its a pain in the ****
    Yep -- it just has to be a hosted image that you link to. You should be able to click on the little "mountain" image icon and add the address of the image that way, but if that isn't working for you, just use the html code in your sig, like this:

    [ URL="http://gasfoodlodging.mobi"][ IMG]http://gasfoodlodging.mobi/gfl_logo.png[/IMG ][/URL ]

    (Remove the extra spaces I stuck inside the brackets -- if I didn't, it would just be showing you my image too.)

    Replace the addresses with your own, and you're all set. Or you can leave mine and help me advertise...

  19. #19
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    hi dags, yeah i tried the mountain thing before have used on many forums before and also added picture sigs etc before, never any probs, but for some reason seems screwed here.

    tried both ways and used html, and hosted elsewhere. there is a problem here, i pm'd scandi

  20. #20
    Senior Member Tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Posts
    2,432

    Default

    yup, me too...It shows in the sig window, but not on posts...I just let it go.


  21. #21
    Founding Member Scandiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    9,538

    Default

    Work in Progress has it working fine so it's not a friendly-to-mods-only type of issue. Not sure what to say on this, Andres will need to check on things as admin to make sure all settings are good.

  22. #22
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scandiman View Post
    Work in Progress has it working fine so it's not a friendly-to-mods-only type of issue.
    i appreciate this, but it doesnt work for many.
    a simple browse option and to use your own images would be best

    for example dnf do this way and also it pops up the limit for image size if you try to upload too big.

    if we're going to have i think this way is better as the current way is simply a pain in knackers

    i know my way round a forum or two and features and noone does it like this imo

  23. #23
    Founding Member Scandiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    9,538

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pred View Post
    i appreciate this, but it doesnt work for many.
    a simple browse option and to use your own images would be best

    for example dnf do this way and also it pops up the limit for image size if you try to upload too big.

    if we're going to have i think this way is better as the current way is simply a pain in knackers

    i know my way round a forum or two and features and noone does it like this imo
    After checking your link via PM it's worth noting here publicly that the image can't be a php script. It must be the image by itself.

    freeimagehosting.net/image.php?"filename".gif is a script, not an image file.

  24. #24
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scandiman View Post
    After checking your link via PM it's worth noting here publicly that the image can't be a php script. It must be the image by itself.

    freeimagehosting.net/image.php?"filename".gif is a script, not an image file.
    i tried other link mate also. no good. thats a few i've used.
    look at my posts also, i know how to display pictures on a forum lol

    technical term for this feature is its f*cked. no good having something if its this darn awkward and image sizes are hidden a few links into faqs etc. if we're gonna have, do it properly imho

    if you want members to use, you gotta lay it out clearly on same page and have a browse option at least. its why forums dont do it 'this ' way

    i am member of many forums across many years, trust me on this.
    i'll pm andres later and see if he can modify to make it userfriendly

  25. #25
    Founding Member Scandiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    9,538

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pred View Post
    i tried other link mate also. no good. thats a few i've used.
    look at my posts also, i know how to display pictures on a forum lol

    technical term for this feature is its f*cked. no good having something if its this darn awkward and image sizes are hidden a few links into faqs etc. if we're gonna have, do it properly imho

    if you want members to use, you gotta lay it out clearly on same page and have a browse option at least. its why forums dont do it 'this ' way

    i am member of many forums across many years, trust me on this.
    i'll pm andres later and see if he can modify to make it userfriendly
    All input to make things better is appreciated. Andres as admin is the only one who can make any changes to this so PMing him is the way to go.

  26. #26
    Administrator Andres Kello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    3,548

    Default

    Pred, if you look at the HTML source of this page, you'll see that your Signature image has the following code:

    Code:
    <img src="http://mobility.mobi/%5Burl=http://www.freeimagehosting.net/%5D%5Bimg%5Dhttp://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/e1ad827d5a.gif%5B/img%5D%5B/url%5D" border="0" alt="" />
    It's trying to pull the image from Mobility.mobi when in fact the image is hosted at freeimagehosting.net, that's why it's not working.

    That's the first clue. What's the actual URL of the image you're trying to display?
    My .mobi's: Dating.mobi | Dubai.mobi | Adult.mobi | Banking.mobi | Student.mobi | Call.mobi | Horoscope.mobi | Messenger.mobi | Classifieds.mobi | LiveTV.mobi

    Developed: Yup.mobi | Mobility
    | Why .mobi? | Banking | Vuelos | Airline Complaints | Random Site | Whois | Free Mobile Dating | Free Dictionary | Free Thesaurus | Horoscope | Astrology | Free Translation | Exchange Rates


  27. #27
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andres View Post
    Pred, if you look at the HTML source of this page, you'll see that your Signature image has the following code:

    Code:
    <img src="http://mobility.mobi/%5Burl=http://www.freeimagehosting.net/%5D%5Bimg%5Dhttp://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/e1ad827d5a.gif%5B/img%5D%5B/url%5D" border="0" alt="" />
    It's trying to pull the image from Mobility.mobi when in fact the image is hosted at freeimagehosting.net, that's why it's not working.

    That's the first clue. What's the actual URL of the image you're trying to display?
    thanks mate

    scandi has helped and emailed me code as pm function was not allowing him to send

    if you look back into my siggy, reason it may have been hotpotch was becuase when i tried to edit sig and went in there, nothing was there, so i couldnt see what to delete, so i deleted back all the way and pasted in the code, but if you look at my siggy its still knacked

    not sure if there is a glitch in my settings

    i pasted in full code and its cutting some off, lkeep doing. its killing me

  28. #28
    Founding Member Scandiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    9,538

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pred View Post
    thanks mate

    scandi has helped and emailed me code as pm function was not allowing him to send

    if you look back into my siggy, reason it may have been hotpotch was becuase when i tried to edit sig and went in there, nothing was there, so i couldnt see what to delete, so i deleted back all the way and pasted in the code, but if you look at my siggy its still knacked

    not sure if there is a glitch in my settings
    This icon top/right is what you need to click to see the full code in your sig

  29. #29
    Pred
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scandiman View Post
    This icon top/right is what you need to click to see the full code in your sig
    i know. tried both ways and every which way but loose

    be my guest to try

    ps: thanks fgor help, ******

  30. #30
    Founding Member Scandiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    9,538

    Default

    pred, I updated your sig myself with the right code and it works fine. Of course the image size needs editing but look at the code by clicking the icon and you'll see how it should be looking.

    Code:
    [ URL="http://religionforum.mobi"][ IMG]http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/e1ad827d5a.gif[/IMG ][/URL ]
    What's screwy with my post here is that even though I wrapped the code inside code tags, it is still resolving as a link (bug in vBulletin IMO) so in order to see the code I added a space inside the opening and closing URL and IMG tags so it could still be human readable.
    Last edited by Scandiman; 02-09-2009 at 06:51 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
A Yup.mobi Mobile Site
Mobile Dating