PDA

View Full Version : Google Trends to view traffic

Wherstead
05-15-2009, 02:37 PM
As a college webmaster, I am interested in the health of our website(s) and always looking for different ways to measure this. We purchased 'our' name for both the dotMobi and dot-Tel recently so I was curious how the two tlds compared. I ran across a great little tool you may be interested in, but I'm sure you have already found it; Google Trends.

Go to http://google.com/trends and type in the phrases or keywords you wish to view and compare. I was interested in how .mobi compared to the new .tel and found some interesting results. I was expecting a sharp peak for the dotMobi around September of 2006 when I bought my first names and there it was along with one earlier toward the middle of May. With vanity suddenly flaring, my next idea was to see if the press releases I wrote on my dotMobi sites corresponded with any minor peaks. Well, you know the answer to that one of course.

Just to let you know, a copy of one of my dotMobi sites translated to a dot-Tel took the .Tel of the Week for this week (12 May) so I plan to work harder on my dotMobi and make it a more valuable tool. Of the 125 sites I own, this dotMobi is currently in second place on the Alexa scale and I hope to have it showcased on the mobiThinking site one of these days. My company's site was one of the earlier sites showcased when they were hungrier for 'good' material. It's harder to get their attention these days.

All this said, being a webmaster can be a lonely job and very little appreciation is shown. Having one of your sites chosen as a featured item by a respected company gives credence to your good design and/or function. Use tools like Google Trends and Alexa.com to see how you stand against the crowd as well as in comparison to where you are on a month to month basis. It's a little work but well worth the results.

Here's to a brighter future with dotMobi!

Steve Merrill
www.Merrill.mobi

rob